Show/Hide
coronavirus smallFor current information regarding the Coronavirus (COVID-19), please click here.

The Town provides garbage, recycling and yard waste collection services for residential properties on Longboat Key through a franchise agreement with Waste Management. Condominiums and commercial businesses contract directly with the franchisee for these services by calling (941) 753-7591.

Residential Collection Schedule of Regular Pickup Days - All items to be placed curbside by 7:00 a.m. on collection day.

  • Garbage: Monday and Thursday
  • Recyclables: Monday
  • Yard Waste: Wednesday

Special pickups of large items and appliances can be arranged directly with the Town's waste hauler, Waste Management by calling (941) 753-7591. Fees may apply.

Electronic appliances and equipment are considered "e-scrap" and are recyclable. For Manatee County, call (941) 748-5543 or Sarasota County, call (941) 861-5000) for hours of operation, directions and locations of special e-scrap collections. Fees may apply. 


Longboat Key collection holidays are consistent with the Manatee County landfill schedule. The following holiday schedule is followed:

2020 Holiday Collection Schedule

Holiday Holiday Date Alternate Collection Date
New Year’s Day 2020 Wednesday, January 1 Thursday, January 2
Presidents' Day Monday, February 17 Tuesday, February 18
Memorial Day Monday, May 25 Tuesday, May 26
Independence Day Saturday, July 4 No Change
Labor Day Monday, September 7 Tuesday, September 8
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 26 Friday, November 27
Christmas Day Friday, December 25 No Change
New Year’s Day 2021 Friday, January 1 No Change